Happy Birthday: An Open Love Letter to My Husband

Today (October 13) is my husband’s forty-third birthday. This blog post is one of my gifts to him. Even though this is written directly to him, it is my intention to share these thoughts publicly, so I encourage anyone stopping by to please wish him a very happy birthday in the comment section.

Sweetness,

Every morning for the past forty-three days I have been leaving you little notes in various places for you to find, and  I numbered them each day. I’m thinking you initially had the idea that I was putting the date on them, but I wasn’t. Your guess that I was counting either up to something or down was more accurate. It turns out that from September 1 to October 13 is exactly forty-three days. See what I did there? There are so, so many reasons I love you that if I were to leave you a different note each day for each reason, I would barely be getting started by the time our sun decided to heave its last hot sigh and snuff itself out. The number forty-three seems like such a teeny tiny number in the grand scheme of things. Blink, and you’ll miss it a million times over.

We’ve been through a lot together, you and I, and after all these years we just keep getting better and better together. I love that you’re only forty-three and we’ve been together over twenty years already because it means having more years together on the back end than if we had met just two or three years ago.

We are old souls, entwined since the beginning of creation, waiting for the precise moment when we could begin our journey together in this realm. It’s why the expression “married the minute we met” fits us so perfectly.

You are my heart and soul. You are my rock, my best friend, my lover, my hero, the great love of my life. You are my everything, and I love you more than you could ever possibly imagine. Below are forty-three of the infinite number of reasons why.

I love you because:

  1. You make me feel safe;
  2. You listen to your heart;
  3. You drink tea, and you love opera and ragas;
  4. You stood by me when I needed it most;
  5. You put your arm around me at church;
  6. You smell wonderful;
  7. My Two Favorite Men

    I know that if the boogeyman ever shows up and tries to come for me, you will tear him into millions of tiny pieces and scatter them to the four corners of the earth;

  8. You love my daddy;
  9. You’re willing to reflect and learn and grow;
  10. I can still make you blush;
  11. You’re different;
  12. You are the one who comforts me in the middle of the night;
  13. You comfort me;
  14. I can’t resist your dimples;
  15. You leave me “bunny mail” every day;
  16. You crack me up harder than anyone else for reasons that would make no sense to anyone else;
  17. Stories about helpless people or animals overcoming great odds move you to tears;
  18. You created a fun space just for me;
  19. You are genuinely interested in me;
  20. You smile with your whole face and light up a room;
  21. You will sit and listen to Grandma for hours;
  22. You are the most intelligent individual I have ever had the pleasure of knowing;
  23. You show compassion toward those in need;
  24. You’ve supported me through a period of growth even when you weren’t sure of the outcome;
  25. You hold me tight when I cry;
  26. You wrote thank you notes to Grammy when she sent you birthday cards;
  27.  You think I’m beautiful;
  28. You let me thaw my frozen feet on the backs of your legs;
  29. You pretend right along with me that I’m perpetually only 29 years old;
  30. The sound of my snoring is actually comforting to you;
  31. Little kids are drawn to you like it’s the most natural thing in the world – you have “The Baby Fu”;
  32. You can still rock out at a concert;
  33. You always encourage me to try new things;
  34. You think I’m smart enough to be a challenge to you;
  35. You know when to play it safe and when to take a risk;
  36. My friends feel safe with you;
  37. The lines in your face and the silver in your hair are so, so sexy;
  38. You worry about people I care about;
  39. You love my tattoos;
  40. You are the sweetest man on earth;
  41. As frustrating as it must have been, you never gave up on me learning how to use a computer;
  42. You always know just the right kind of movie I’m in the mood for;
  43. You love me with your whole being.
I can’t remember life before you, and I never want to imagine life without you.
Happy Birthday!
With love always,
e 🙂
xoxoxo
xoxoxo
xoxoxo
xoxoxo

L-R: 1st day of 1st grade; 1st grade; Cub Scout Chris

L-R: 11th Grade; April, 1992; Christmas 2009

18 Comments

  1. Happy birthday to one of the most generous and kind people I am so fortunate to know and have the blessing to call friend. And you are brilliant!!! I hope your 43rd celebration is wonderful. I wish you a happy day and a year of the same!!! Happy Birthday, Chris!!!

  2. Happy Birthday, Chris! It’s hard to believe it’s been 43 years since you were born … I can remember it like it was yesterday! Hope you have a fantastic birthday, enjoy yourself!

    Love you very much,
    Mom

  3. Sweet Brother*In*Love~
    How Blessed are we ALL to have you in our lives!?! Thank you for loving my Baby Sister so much and being such an inspiration of what True Love and Respect means in the ‘life of a couple’. I love you both.
    “The Oldest and Wisest”*
    J’

  4. Happy Birthday to my wonderful Son-in-Love!!! Chris- Thank you for being the person you are: a wonderful husband to our daughter; a wonderful son to us—-We love you very much; Plus a very patient and loving Grandson! My mother adores you!!!!HAPPY BIRTHDAY

  5. Happy Birthday, Chris. You brighten up everyones life that you touch. I have never seen Edee so happy and content since she has been with you. If ever a couple complemented each other it is you two. I love you both! Your happiness is my happiness.

  6. Thank you to everyone for the wonderful birthday wishes!!!!!

    But especially Thank You to my beautiful, loving, sweet, fantastic wife!!!!! You are the best thing that has ever happened to me!!!!! You are my everything!!!

    (\___/)
    (=’.’=)xxxxxxxxxx
    (“)_(“)

  7. This is one of the most beautiful things i have ever read!I was browsing online to see how to go about writing a letter to my new husband on his first birthday since we were married and i stumbled upon this!It’s so refreshing to see a couple that is still so much in love after all these years and a great inspiration to those who are just starting on this amazing journey.
    Hannah x

Thoughts?

