Oh WordPress…

I don’t know whether to worship at the feet of the WordPress gods or give ’em the old stink eye. 

I decided to change my layout yet again. I know, I know. I can’t seem to make up my mind. It’s why I don’t even bother looking at premium themes anymore – I support WordPress, but if I spend one more dime on anything they’re going to have to put my name on a virtual plaque somewhere. That’s just how I roll. But as much as I loved the cleanness of the last layout, I realized all the search stuff and subscription goodies were at the bottom and if you’re like me you don’t bother scrolling to the bottom looking for it. I have the attention span of a gnat, so I don’t have the patience. Frankly, I’d be the worst theme designer on the planet. I want everything right in front of me all at once, without looking cluttered. But I also don’t want the teeny tiny text that would be required to make that happen.

So I went looking through themes. This is where I got myself in trouble.

The new setup for previewing themes is a thing of beauty. It’s way more interactive than ever and offers an incredible array of choices, depending on which theme you’re looking at. And if you know me really, really well then you know where this is headed.

Not long ago my husband and I heard someone say in a podcast he wanted to form a support group for people with ADHD. He said the membership card would be all silver and shiny. The mascot would be a squirrel. WordPress Manage Themes – you are my bright, shiny squirrel!

For those of you who are unfamiliar, you can go to manage –> themes and click on the picture of a theme you might like and it pulls from your own site to show you what it might look like. Pretty handy. I don’t even remember which theme I started with, but I clicked to preview my site with it and fell smack into a whole new world of I’m not getting anything else done today. Not only can you look at your web page in preview mode, you can monkey with the appearance settings. You can upload a new header picture, change your title, and fiddle with navigation.  There are color palettes to choose from – yes I said palettes! – and once you choose a palette, you can then play with individual colors. When I say individual colors, I mean they give you buttons – BUTTONS! – to click for different elements, like background, headings & links, site title, secondary links, and, for some lucky themes, hover color.  It will show you a selection of colors – possible backgrounds – that might look good with the palette you’ve chosen, which is cool, because some colors just don’t work well together and nobody wants to go back to the hideousness of the World Wide Web of the mid- to late1990s.

This is the Holy Grail of bright, shiny object meets squirrel meets hyperfocus.

I started around just after lunch time. I stayed up way too late. I’m bleary-eyed and feel guilty I didn’t want to drag my sorry butt out of bed to let the dogs out. Clearly, I’m back at it again this morning.

Sigh…

1 Comment

Thoughts?

