The Price

Now I get it. I’m starting to catch on. They’re called blackout poems or newspaper blackout poems. Find some text, start circling one, two, maybe three words that speak to you on each line. Black out the rest. Find a poem among redacted text. This is my first attempt. I thumbed through my copy of Barbara Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible on my iPad Kindle reader. The word unicorn caught me, though I didn’t use it. I might have broken a rule, though. I thought the last two words I circled made for a great title. Edit: I forgot to insert the word inhumanly – fixed it!

The Price

helpless
knows everything

you
her favorite
mother
blame
inhumanly
beautiful lives

amazed
inspecting in dim
light

gentle shadows
splay
caught taking
devils

surrenders feel
curled water’s
lapping gently
velvet leaves

one breath
brief promise

children
a mother
never had
peace

1 Comment

Thoughts?

